Michigan’s Stabenow, Minnesota’s Klobuchar rise in U.S. Senate Democratic leadership

Democrats re-elected New York Sen. Chuck Schumer as majority leader and Illinois Dick Durbin as majority whip, the No. 2 position

By: - December 8, 2022 11:24 am
U.S. Senate Democratic leadership

Senate Democratic leaders for the 118th Congress gather for a photo in the Ohio Clock Corridor of the U.S. Capitol following elections on Dec. 8, 2022. From left, West Virginia Sen. Joe Manchin, Wisconsin Sen. Tammy Baldwin, Virginia Sen. Mark Warner, Nevada Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto, Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren, Michigan Sen. Debbie Stabenow, New York Sen. Chuck Schumer, Illinois Sen. Dick Durbin, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders, New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker and Hawaii Sen. Brian Schatz. (Jennifer Shutt/States Newsroom)

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Jennifer Shutt
Jennifer Shutt

Jennifer covers the nation’s capital as a senior reporter for States Newsroom. Her coverage areas include congressional policy, politics and legal challenges with a focus on health care, unemployment, housing and aid to families.